Tuesday, 8 December 2009

Albums of the year: Green Day 21st Century Breakdown

For some reason the world didn't quite understand this album. In my opinion you didn't really have to be particularly receptive or intelligent to see this was an iconic moment in an important band's career. The amount of people who said this was rubbish and then went on to say "i haven't listened to it but.." was almost responsible for a record number of forks in eyes this year. I must say however that due to the events outlined in the following paragraph it is my current opinion that if you just download my reccomended downloads your life won't be missing a whole lot and it is a long album so it's up to you...

You might remember I wasn't really into green day but this album changed that. I admit, when i went to see them live the tracks on this album didn't transfer quite as well as their past glories but when you're feeling isolated, alone and devoid of hope this album is a real shake to the system. It's full of hope. Where American Idiot was about realising that you've been put in an impossible situation due to circumstances out of your control, 21st Century Breakdown is about getting out of that funk and showing the world what you've been forced to suppress.


Green Day- 21st Century Breakdown

1. Song of the Century
2. 21st Century Breakdown
3. Know Your Enemy
4. ¡Viva La Gloria!
5. Before The Lobotomy
6. Christians Inferno
7. Last Night On Earth
8. East Jesus Nowhere
9. Peacemaker
10. Last Of The American Girls
11. Murder City
12. ¿Viva La Gloria? (Little Girl)
13. Restless Heart Syndrome
14. Horseshoes And Handgrenades
15. The Static Age
16. 21 Guns
17. American Eulogy (Mass Hysteria/Modern World)
18. See The Light

Essential Downloads: 2, 5, 10, 14, 17

No comments:

Post a comment