Monday, 30 November 2009

Albums of 2009: The Rumble Strips- Welcome to the walk alone

The Rumble Strips- Welcome to the walk alone

Track List:
01. Welcome To The Walk Alone 2:44
02. London 3:10
03. Not The Only Person 2:21
04. Daniel 2:58
05. Douglas 2:38
06. Back Bone 3:11
07. Sweet Heart Hooligan 1:53
08. Running On Empty 2:27
09. Dem Girls 2:55
10. Raindrops 3:49
11. Happy Hell 3:23

Essential Downloads- 1, 2, 3, 6, 9, 10

Everytime I listen to this album I'm struck by two things- how amazing it is and a profound hatred for nme. They gave it something like a 4 when it was released and then like 6 months later said that it would have gotten an 8 or 9 if Mark Ronson hadn't produced it. WHAT. THE. FUCK. That is THE most ignorant thing I have ever heard.

You know the rumble strips, debut album in 2006 had tracks like bicycle, clouds, girls and boys in love. In short it was amazing so yes they did have to make sure that the follow up was special and man is it ever.
If you don't know them they're ska influenced brit pop. It's so nice and familiar as well as haunting and profound. Spectacular album.

No comments:

Post a comment